Model UN Team Racks Up Awards at Yale Conference
Model UN Team Racks Up Awards at Yale Conference

The Princeton Day School Model United Nations Team traveled to the Yale Model UN Conference in New Haven this past weekend and won a number of awards. Faculty advisor at US history teacher Eamon Downey reported that this conference was an international gathering comprised of more than 80 high schools, with 1800 students competing.

At the end of the opening ceremony it was announced that Katie Jain '21 won the award for the Best Position Paper submitted to the conference, an impressive accomplishment.

Mr. Downey reported that the PDS Model UN Team made one of the best efforts in the School's Model UN history, winning a large number of Outstanding and Best Delegate awards, and capturing the trophy for Best Small Delegation.

Below is a list of individual award winners. Congratulations to our team!

Best Delegate:

Megha Thomas: SCSD, representing Algeria

Harjap Singh: GA Historical, representing Saudi Arabia

Emma Dries: UN Women, representing the Czech Republic

Katie Jain: Position paper award

Matan Blitz: Arab League, representing Algeria

Shai Fruchter: Palestinian Council, representing Khawla Al-Shakheheer

Outstanding Delegate:

Declan Rourke: DISEC, representing Algeria

Lex Decker: ECOFIN, representing Algeria

Rahul Bhatia: SPECPOL, representing Algeria

Elisabeth Berman: Oslo Accords, representing Uri Savir

Kate Bennett: Ad Hoc, representing Benjamin Netanyahu

Honorable Mention:

Hadeel Eltayeb: Press Corps, representing herself

Eyal Yakoby: Oslo Accords, representing Marwan Burglouti