Congratulations to Our Middle School Students
Congratulations to Our Middle School Students

At a recent Focus Assembly, Head of Middle School Renée Price and faculty members announced a multitude of accolades for some of our Middle School students in the areas of math and foreign languages. In addition, the MS students performed impressively at their choral, band, and orchestra concerts--see some photos from the concerts here. Read more about the academic accolades below. Congratulations to our students for their achievements!

MS Math teacher Jessica Clingman, the faculty advisor for Mathcounts in 5th and 6th grade, announced that this year, the groups were able to achieve silver level and then advance to achieve gold level status for the National Math Club. This is the third year in a row that the students from 5th and 6th grade Mathcounts have achieved such an honor.

MS Math teacher Paula Koerte announced that the Mathcounts Competition class for 7th & 8th grade students were given three qualifying School Level tests in November and December to choose the top ten students for the Chapter Competition at the Mercer County Community College in February. The Chapter Competition was an all-day event that consisted of three rounds of tests in the morning. The PDS team came in 5th out of 20 teams and just missed being one of the top four teams that would go on to the State Competition level. Gavin Yang '23 received a trophy for being the top scorer of the PDS Team. The following students participated: Dhruv Balaji, Arnav Kokkirala, Veronica Li, Navaneeth Rajan, William Sun, Samuel Tang, Gavin Yang, Kyler Zhou, Jai Kasera, and Winston Ni.

American Mathematics Competition 8
The AMC 8 is a 25-question, 40-minute, multiple choice examination in middle school mathematics designed to promote the development of problem-solving skills. The AMC 8 provides an opportunity for middle school students to develop positive attitudes towards analytical thinking and mathematics that can assist in future careers. Students apply classroom skills to unique problem-solving challenges in a low-stress and friendly environment. Math Department Chair Chip Cash announced the following student accolades on the AMC 8:

First Place and Honor Roll of Distinction: William Sun, Samuel Tang
Second Place and Honor Roll Certificate: Jack J. Wang
Third Place and Honor Roll Certificate: Arnav Kokkirala

Continental Mathematics League Winners
The Continental Mathematics League competition (CML) is a national competition for both public and private schools. All CML experiences are designed to both maximize student opportunities to participate and to improve their problem solving capabilities. Mr. Cash congratulations the following students who participated in the competition from PDS:

8th Grade: Arnav Kokkirala, William Sun, Samuel Tang
7th Grade: Navaneeth Rajan
6th Grade: Robert Ding, Abigail Stephenson, Liz Zhao
5th Grade: Aiyan Doshi

National Latin Exam
The National Latin Exam, sponsored by the American Classical League and the National Junior Classical League, is a 40-question, multiple-choice test with a time limit of 45 minutes, offered to students on seven levels. MS Latin teacher Nicole Mangino announced that the following students received special certificates and/or medals.

Summa cum Laude (gold): Jacqueline Chen, Jack Wang
Maxima cum Laude (silver): Chloe Knerr
Magna cum Laude: Avery Eiseman, Dodge Martinson
Cum Laude: William Trend

National French Contest
The National French Contest/Le Grand Concours is an annual competition sponsored by the American Association of Teachers of French. Students of French in grades 1-12, in all 50 states and abroad, take a written test and compete against students with similar educational background for prizes. MS French teacher Yves Marcuard announced that the following students won special commendations.

Honorable Mention: William Foster
Bronze Medal: Emily Allen, Andrew Marshall
Silver Medal: Lyla Allen, Franny Gallagher, Joseph Lippman, Jason Ma, Divya Sharma, Elizabeth Thomas, Gabriella Thomas, Anshika Viranim, Rebecca Willner
Gold Medal: Albert Ming, Sanjana Paramesh, Jacob Roitburg, Quinn Thierfelder, Grant Wells