Model UN Team Takes Top Award at DC Conference
Model UN Team Takes Top Award at DC Conference

Congratulations to our Upper School Model UN Team, who once again wowed the competition at the Washington Area Model UN Conference this past weekend by winning the top award at the conference: Best Large Delegation. This conference included teams from 68 high schools from the mainland United States, Puerto Rico, and South Africa. Faculty Advisor and history teacher Eamon Downey reported, "From Thursday through Sunday this past week, our Model UN team competed on the largest stage yet this year ... and the Panthers emerged with the top award of the entire conference, winning the plaque for Best Large Delegation." Mr. Downey went on to say that the PDS team bested delegations from JP Stevens, Thomas Jefferson, West Windsor-Plainsboro South, and Stuyvesant HS, some of the top ranked programs in the nation. Here is a full list of the individual awards.

Best Delegate:

Shai Fruchter: War Council of Ra Shu

Itai Fruchter: Meiji Restoration Ito Hirapuni

Philip Kaplan: UN Security Council France

Clara Love: World Health Organization Argentina

Emma Dries: Comm. on Conventional Weapons Argentina

Outstanding Delegate:

Christopher Kiel: JCC: Clash of Eagles and Dragons Commander PLA

Nicole Hartley: DISEC Turkey

Nick Jain: DISEC Turkey

Honorable Mention:

Declan Rourke: Council of Europe Albania

Jacob Tharayil: Bloody Sunday—IRA Quartermaster Gen.

Pranav Pulakkat: Brazilian Cabinet Min. of Central Bank

Kate Bennett: MI6 Veronica Martin

Ziad Ahmed: FIFA Council Adidas

Caroline Bernstein: WMATA John Kuo

Stacey Kim: US Office of War Information Owen Lattimore

Ryan Donnelly: 1950 Cold War Gen. Assembly Argentina

Verbal Commendation:

Rahul Bhatia: SOCHUM Saudi Arabia

Hadeel Eltayeb: SOCHUM Saudi Arabia

Powered by Finalsite